Towanroath Pumping Engine House Wheal Coates Cornwall
Towanroath Shaft pumping engine house is one of the most iconic disused Cornish mine buildings being perched high on cliffs on the North Cornwall coast. It sits between St Agnes and Porthtowan near Chapel Porth, SW England, UK. The ruins are part of Wheal Coates, a tin and copper mine. The Victorian engine house was built in 1872 to house a steam engine to pump water from the 600 ft deep mine shaft workings below sea level. The shaft can still be seen today covered by a metal grille and the sea can be heard below. Extracted ore was hauled up to the clifftops to be further processed, initially by steam driven stamps, at the crushing house and then at the adjacent ore dressing floors.
Processed ore was then hauled to local ports by tramway. During its heyday between 1870-1880 the mine employed 140 miners. The main mine operations closed in 1889 with some sporadic and unsuccessful re-workings in the early 20th century.
March 9th, 2019
Viewed 337 Times - Last Visitor from Wilmington, DE on 09/20/2020 at 11:41 PM