Circa 1812, historically known as "The George Keenan House." Purchased after construction and renovated by Dr. Vincent Le Seigneur in 1814. Born in Normandy, LeSeigneur fled Santo Domingo. He was known as a caring and generous physician who founded the "Health House," a hospital for slaves. The doctor practiced medicine in Charleston for over 50 years. LeSeigneur added the two adjacent lots, north and south, around 1826 to create the unique garden enjoyed today. The crenelated stair addition to the north along with the adjoining of the main house to the dependency was done around 1900 by the Hopkins family. The Hopkins/Lebby families owned the property for the next 125 years.
April 16th, 2018
Viewed 3 Times - Last Visitor from Shenyang, 19 - China on 04/26/2018 at 6:59 AM